Blogging 101#Day 5 – My experiences today on selecting themes

It was a typical day with lots of play with themes and customisation.

I went through many themes and thought of selecting writr theme and customise appearances. But it did not customise as per my requirements. I wanted the header image background behind my site’s title with the present scenery image. But it is not taking header image like that. It is taking the header on the left sidebar in a small size. It does not appeal to me. Further, the side bars with widgets of social icons and other gadgets is giving below the page at the bottom, which I do not like.

So, I had to revert again to my Ecto theme. Here, I made some small changes.

I changed the background colour of blog to blue. Then I changed the Archives and Categories widgets to dropdown mode. So, you need to select from the dropdown list regarding period or category that you wish to view.

When you click on the “Menu and Widgets” button on the top right hand corner of my blog, you will see the widgets in this order:

Facebook and Twitter buttons, Recent Posts, Archives, Categories and below that you will be seeing two wordpress buttons (W). The left button is for General Blog and the right button is for viewing “About” page.

So, this is what I have done today with the theme and widgets.

Hope you all bear with me and keep supporting me.

Leave a Reply

